Skincare routine

Before the past three to four weeks of fifteen hour workdays and five hours’ sleep per night caught up with me, my skin was in great condition. And when I say great, I meant that each time I washed my face I was constantly surprised at how soft and smooth it was. I wanted to do a skincare routine documenting what I was using at the time because: 1) I’m not sure exactly which product it is that gave such results, and often it’s probably a cocktail of products and not just one that results in a noticeable difference; and 2) let’s be real, six months down and 13835789 new products later, I’d forget the combination of products that I was using no matter how good it is. Although three weeks only, my skin’s not looking so great, I do think that when I was keeping normal hours of work and sleep, the products worked wonderfully. So it’s not a very involved routine, but here we go.

Morning

I cleanse my face with either the Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cleanser or the L’occitane Brightening Foaming Cleanser.

Using my ring fingers, I pat a tiny dab of Pai Echium & Argan Gentle Eye Cream around my eyes. Next I use the Origins Make A Difference Plus+ Rejuvenating Serum. I give it a minute or so then I spread the Omorovicza Illuminating Moisturiser all over my face.

That’s all for my morning routine!

Night

When I get home, I use the Bioderma Sensibio Micelle Solution and a cotton pad to remove my eye makeup. The rest of my makeup I remove in the shower – I massage the Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm onto my dry face, and after I step into the shower I use a warm damp flannel or muslin cloth to take off the rest of my makeup.

After my shower, if I am not going immediately to sleep, I spray about three spritzes of the Dermalogica Multi-Active Toner on my face. If I am going to sleep quite soon after, I skip the toner and go straight into cleansing again. For this I’ve been using Lush Angels on Bare Skin, which my skin LOVES. I use the Pai Echium & Argan Gentle Eye Cream again, followed by the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair serum and the Omorovicza Revitalising Night Cream.

That’s all I do – maybe once a week I use The Face Shop Raspberry Roots Sleeping Mask, but that’s about it. I haven’t used exfoliants, chemical or physical, in some time because I think my skin is a little too sensitive to them. I’ve noticed that something else that really affects my skin is alcohol, so I’ve consciously been trying to imbibe less of the stuff. Other than that, sleep really does make a tremendous difference, so I’m going to take some of my own advice and be off to bed now.

Leave a Reply

