Ode to Lush’s Angels on Bare Skin

IMG_3705

The last time I had a tub of this was approximately three years ago. I remember this because I remember taking it along for my graduation trip to Japan. This was the only cleanser I used for the three weeks I was there, roughing it out in student hostels with shared bathrooms.

If you’ve never heard someone rave about this cleanser, chances are you’re living under a (beauty) rock. Chances also are that you’d never pick it up on your own. It looks kind of gross – like smashed peas or something your cat ate and threw up. Mushy green with unidentified bits of brown is not a good look. The smell is also something of an acquired taste. It smells kind of herbally, which means that right off the bat half of people wouldn’t like it. It is also a pain to use – it takes about twice as long to use as other cleansers because you have to first work it into a paste before putting it on your face, and thereafter washing it off also takes some time.

Right about now you’re probably wondering whether I’ve titled this post wrongly… but read on because despite everything I said above, I LOVE Lush’s Angels on Bare Skin.

It just makes for beautiful skin. After washing it off, your skin just feels incredibly… balanced. Clean yet moisturised, not at all stripped. And very soft because the little bits of stuff inside gently exfoliate the skin. And as the website promises, it’ll make your skin glow. I used it for three weeks in Japan’s dry climate and I had no problems with my skin. To be fair, I don’t have terrible skin – I have normal/dry skin which is prone to bouts of sensitivity. I have a little hyperpigmentation but no real issue with acne, just random pimples that appear every now and then.

However, when I went to London recently, my skin acted up – I had dry patches, and my face was extremely blotchy and red. Very unattractive, and the travel skincare which I’d brought did NOT work. Since I was in London, I took the opportunity to stock up on Lush (the mark-ups in Singapore are crazy), and AOBS was one of my purchases. Now, there are two significant things to note about this: 1) At the time, my suitcase was full to bursting and I had to really curate what I was buying; and 2) If you know me, you’d realise that by sheer virtue of the fact that I’ve repurchased it – me with my various unopened cleansers (amongst other things) and growing wishlist of more to try – means that I really think it’s something.

When I returned from London, I used it every night, and my skin cleared up pretty quickly. Now, some might say that this could be attributed to being back in familiar weather (and humidity), but I think in any case AOBS helped my skin along.

So, it is somewhere at the top of my list of skincare saviours. What are your skincare saviours?

Ingredients (according to Lush’s UK website): Ground Almonds, Glycerine, Kaolin, Water, Lavender Oil, Rose Absolute, Chamomile Blue Oil, Tagetes Oil, Benzoin Resinoid, Lavender Flowers, *Limonene, *Linalool

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Selina
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 16:33:19

    You have definitely sold this to me, especially with the idea of totally balanced skin. A lot of skincare seems to be for one skin type but I just want something not so harsh! I love the name too x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

