Edging into 2013

It has been pouring on and off the whole of today. Just my favourite sort of weather, when I have the luxury to sit at home and enjoy it. (Actually, I don’t – I’ve got work to do, but when the weather is all beautiful like that I get distracted.)

Anyway, I thought I’d take the chance to set out my New Year’s Resolutions for 2013:

1) Shop my stash. I have way too many things – clothes, bags, makeup, skin care, bath & body products, perfume, you name it. Clothes and bags go out of style (and size, sadly), and makeup and skincare have expiry dates. So my resolution for 2013 is to use these up instead of getting new things. (I’m ashamed to admit that it being the last day of 2012, I bought two Maybelline Color Tattoo Cream Eyeshadows and a Revlon Just Bitton Kissable Balm Stain.)

2) Get more sleep. I haven’t quite figured out how to go about doing this, but I do know that I’ve not been getting enough sleep. You know how it is – it is such a struggle waking up at 7am to go to work I always vow to sleep early that night, but when night comes I end up planting myself in front of the computer for hours and only going to bed at 1am. The cycle repeats itself over and over. It needs to stop. I’m thinking of having a routine whereby I sleep by 11pm two nights a week. This is to ensure that I get eight hours of sleep at least twice a week.

3) Clear my emails each day. This is a work related resolution. I already do read all my emails everyday, but I normally don’t get around to sorting them into folders until I get emails from the System Administrator informing me that my mailbox is full. It would be a good habit, not terribly difficult to accomplish and it would make life so much easier.

4) Start the day with fruit juice. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been starting every morning with a cup of tea – English Breakfast tea, sweetened with a large teaspoon of condensed milk. I need it to jolt my brain into functioning, but it really isn’t too healthy. Therefore, I shall try to drink fruit juice every morning instead – but I will reward myself with tea on the weekends.

5) Experiment with my hair. For much of my life, my hair has been straight, long and layered. It has always been black, never dyed or even highlighted. Sometimes, when I feel I need a change, I cut it short to about somewhere between my chin and my shoulders. But now it is long again, nearly reaching my waist. Everyday I wear it down. I comb it after a shower. That is about all I ever do to my hair (not counting when I sometimes have my hair up in a messy bun at home). It is a waste because there is really a lot that can be done with long hair. Recently I acquired a Babyliss curler, so for the Christmas season I’ve been curling my hair a little. For 2013, I shall try to do more with my hair.

Leave a Reply

