Work’s been sucky, but here’s an update on the shower gels I’ve tried

I used to find bathtime a chore, but now I enjoy the whole process. My bathroom tabletop is a mess of bottles of various shower gels and jars of various scrubs. Sometime in the past 2-3 years, I discovered the hedonist in me and I’m making up for lost time.

It’s like drowning my sorrows, but instead of turning to drink I turn to another form of liquid… water.

Enough cheesy rambling.

Since I last wrote about my shower products, I’ve opened and tried all three Philosophy limited edition Christmas shower gels (they are technically 3-in-1 products which can be used as shampoo, bubble bath and shower gel, but I’ve tried using them – in other scents – as shampoo and I would not recommend that to anyone). They are Old Fashioned Egg Nog, Have A Cherry Christmas (‘white cherry’) and Snow Angel (‘sweetly fallen snow’). I have to say, a large part of the reason I bought these (apart from the scents, which is a given) is that they are so darn gorgeous. I mean the latter two are shimmery in the bottle, and Have A Cherry Christmas has sort of pink irisdescent microglitter in it. I have no idea how it was possible to make them shimmer like that, but they are absolutely beautiful and would make lovely gifts.

Apart from the prettiness, they smell absolutely wonderful. My top Philosophy pick in terms of scent would actually be something I didn’t buy – Winter Retreat – but be warned, it is extremely sweet. I wouldn’t buy it untested unless you’re a vanilla lover like me. (In case you’re wondering, I didn’t buy it for the practical reason that it only came in a $50+ box set with a body lotion which I would not be able to find a chance to use.) Old Fashioned Egg Nog is a slightly less sweet, boozed up version of Winter Retreat, and the boozey note cuts through the vanilla nicely. Have A Cherry Christmas smells like cherry liquer, or like those marischino cherries you find on top of your ice cream. And it’s so pretty to look at, I felt like I was bathing in fairy dust. BUT for some reason it stung when I put it on. Sort of like my Korres Almond shower gel, but worse. I have yet to figure out what it is that causes the stinging (okay, too lazy to compare ingredient lists), but I’m really sad because that’s a whole thirty bucks down the drain… I’d probably still continue using it, but as expected the stinging takes all the fun out of using a shimmery pink, cherry scented shower gel. Snow Angel on the other hand is 100% lovely. Somehow the description of the scent as sweetly fallen snow is exactly right, although I haven’t smelled freshly fallen snow and doubt it would smell like this anyway. Clean, pure, mildly sweet. It’s what I would have imagined Amazing Grace (which I think is meh) to smell like. My sister says it smells like a generic flowery soap though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

