scented things

Ever since reading this post on Now Smell This, I’ve kind of been obsessed with scented soaps and shower gels. Not that I wasn’t before. But I’d bought a whole lot of things from Lush and The Body Shop and Bath & Body Works, and my bathroom was turning into a little soap exhibition, and I’d stopped buying new scented things for nearly a year. But after reading this post, I got into a frenzied state and basically started googling all the soaps referred to in the post which sounded remotely interesting – the reviews, where I could buy them, etc.

In the past two weeks, I’ve acquired:

1) Roger & Gallett Green Tea Perfumed Soap

2) Korres Fig Shower Gel

3) Philosophy Snow Angel Shower Gel

4) Philosophy Old Fashioned Egg Nog Shower Gel

5) Philosophy Have A Cherry Little Christmas

6) L’Occitane Almond Shower Oil

7) La Compagnie de Provence Savon Extra Pur soap in Mediterranean

8) La Compagnie de Provence Savon Extra Pur soap in Fleur D’Oranger

9) Sephora Effervescent Cube in Musk Almond

10) Sephora Effervescent Cube in Monoi Tiare

I will try to get some reviews up! So far I’ve tried the Savon Extra Pur soap in Mediterranean and it was a bit of a letdown – not much discernible scent other than a vaguely fresh, vegetable-y scent. The L’Occitane Almond Shower Oil is nice, the almond scent is very non-gourmand and even slightly bitter but still very lovely and comforting. The shower oil also isn’t greasy and it isn’t too heavy for hot humid Singapore weather. The Korres Fig Shower Gel smells absolutely divine – but then I knew I’d love it as I love fig scents, my favourite perfume being Diptyque’s Philosykos. The Sephora Effervescent Cube in Monoi Tiare is lovely – I dropped this into a hot bath after a long day walking around in Shanghai and it was absolutely gorgeous. This small cube was certainly sufficient for a medium sized bath tub.

On a related note, I went to The Body Shop as their Christmas scents had come out and to my horror they didn’t bring back Spiced Vanilla this year! :(:(:(:( In its place is something called Vanilla Bliss, which is just a plain vanilla – totally lacking and not at all like the lovely Spiced Vanilla. I only have one and a half full bottles and half a tiny bottle left of Spiced Vanilla. Guess I will have to begin rationing 😦

Leave a Reply

