Mini fragrance reviews… and my first (surprising) scrubber

So far, I’ve sampled about half of the 27 samples that I ordered off Surrender to Chance. As with all things unpredictable, the scents in turn disappointed and delighted me.

For now, due to time constraints, I’m just going to go into three scents which stood out the most, whether for good or bad reasons. I must say, however, that I only managed to consider each scent once, and for about 2-3 hours (this is what happens when you test scents after a long day of work and have to get sufficient sleep for another long day of work).

Estee Lauder Private Collection Tuberose Gardenia – This fragrance is, to me, beautiful. If it were an item of clothing it’d be a soft, white spring dress, all flowy chiffon and no structure (not in a bad way). It reminds me somewhat of Annick Goutal Songes, but slightly sweetened; a light tuberose (though it’s clearly tuberose) fragrance which I think most would find easy to love.

CB I Hate Perfume Russian Caravan Tea – This smells to me like straight up iced lemon tea. It’s very bright, and the verbena almost overpowers the tea. It’s a little too sweet for my taste though; it reminds me of commercially bottled iced lemon tea (specifically, Seasons Iced Lemon Tea) rather than tea brewed from actual tea leaves. I get no smoke from this one.

Vero Profumo Rubj – Because of the stellar reviews on this one, and because I do enjoy white florals, I really thought I’d love it. So imagine my utter disappointment when not only did I not love it, I couldn’t stand it. For two hours after I had put a small dab on each wrist, I had to make a conscious effort to keep my arm movements to a minimum to reduce my chances of catching an accidental whiff of the fragrance. I didn’t wash it off as I wanted to give it a chance, but my opinion of it did not improve. I’m not sure what it is in this perfume that I can’t stand – Serge Lutens Fleur d’Oranger is quite a lovely orange blossom after a few minutes on the skin. I think the problem might be the cumin, which reminds me of Indian cooking – I like Indian food, but I don’t want to smell like it. Together with the orange blossom it’s somehow overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

