Following my previous post about the decants that I ordered, and having had them for a month or so, I decided to pen down my initial thoughts on the scents. I’d like to preface this by saying that this is just my personal opinion on the scents, and that I’m quite incapable of putting a description to scents, so I’ll keep things really simple.

Guerlain L’Heure Bleue – A bit too refined and heavy for my tastes. Calls to mind opulence and the colour gold, and a woman who might be routinely adorned with the same.

Guerlain Apres L’Ondee – in a word, gorgeous. Supposed to be the sister of L’Heure Bleue, but I don’t see the resemblence at all. A new favourite, but I might save a full bottle for when I’m a bit older.

Chanel No. 19 – at first, a real disappointment as I had smelt No. 19 Poudre in the store and loved it, and thought that this was the same when ordering. On my second sniff, I liked it more, but it has a certain character (present in many of the Chanel scents) that I just don’t enjoy.

Hermessence Vetiver Tonka – my first brush with vetiver, and it’s made me really curious about it. Considering how it is far more bitter than I’m used to in a scent, I surprisingly really like this one.

Jo Malone Lotus Blossom & Water Lily – I enjoyed this a lot the first time I smelt it; it was a light, pleasant, mildly sweet scent. However, the second time there seemed to be a strange incense-y note that I didn’t enjoy… Not sure if my decant got contaminated by close contact with the rest of the vials.

Jo Malone Dark Amber & Ginger Lily – this scent always makes me think of Fleur De Force because it was her recommendation that made me want to try it. Happily, I really like it. Strangely, though, it’s like the Lotus Blossom & Water Lily with lots of incense added, but in this one it somehow isn’t discordant.

Annick Goutal Eau De Charlotte – dislike. At first, it’s a not-quite-generic but inoffensive sweet scent, but it quickly dries down into an unappealing powder scent.

 

Phew. Don’t be fooled by the brevity of the descriptions above; they aren’t easy to write. This is quite fun though, and I will continue with the other scents later this week!

Leave a Reply

